## The 86<sup>th</sup> Gordon Cup held on September 5-6, 2015

The Mississippi Golf Club was proud and honoured to host the competitors and clubs of the 2015 Gordon Cup. Established in 1930, the Gordon Cup has been an annual event of competition and friendship in the Ottawa Valley. Fourteen competitors from Sand Point (formerly Arnprior), Deep River, Pembroke, Renfrew and Mississippi compete over two days for the Gordon Cup, which was originally donated by J.P. Gordon.

## Final Team Standings:

Pembroke	1889 (two day total team score)		
Mississippi	1938		
Sand Point	1939		
Renfrew	1956		
Deep River	1965		
Low Gross (2 days)			
Taylor Collins, Sand Point 138 (68, 70)			
2 <sup>nd</sup> Low Gross			
Ken Titterington, Deep River 141 (71, 70)			
Low Gross - Pembroke - Sean O'Malley		147	
Low Gross – Renfrew - Tim Lemoyre Jr.		154	
Low Gross – Mississippi - Ken Zubricki		152	
2 <sup>nd</sup> Low Gross Scores			
Sand Point – John Ackehurst		155	
Deep River – Mike Hogue		157	
Pembroke – Justin Power		151	
Renfrew – Rob Warren & Steve Mulvihill		157	
Mississippi – Bill Mason & Kevin Beerli		155	

## Saturday Skins Game Results - each skin was worth \$90

Matt Farrell, Pembroke	eagle Hole # 3
Bud Lance, Renfrew	birdie Hole # 4
Al Seabrook, Mississippi	eagle Hole # 6
Rod Ayotte, Mississippi	birdie Hole # 7
Sean O'Malley, Pembroke	birdie Hole # 10
Justin Power, Pembroke	eagle Hole # 13
Jordan Maheral, Mississippi	birdie Hole # 18

Sunday Skins Game Results - skin was worth \$530

Richard Barr, Renfrew birdie Hole # 10

Day 1 play finishes with the Gordon Cup Horse Race. Following a long hot day on the golf course, 13 teams of 3 were formed for this straight alternate shot event. The winning teams were as follows:

Al Seabrook (Mississippi), Rick Troutman (Pembroke) and Sean O'Malley (Pembroke)

Mike Wharton (Mississippi), Luke Mohns (Pembroke) and Kip Mulvilhill (Renfrew)

Jordan Maheral (Mississippi), Sean Henson (Deep River) and Jason Robertson (Pembroke)

The Gordon Cup weekend combines golf, fellowship, sportsmanship and honouring past accomplishments and players. These honours are announced at the dinner on the Sunday evening. This year, Mississippi honoured the following players, who have played in at least 10 events, on their 40<sup>th</sup> anniversary of playing in the Gordon Cup.

Gord Robinson, Glen Buder, Robb Burton, and Web Miller - Arnprior

Dave Elliot, Sandy France and Ian Lamb - Mississippi

Following the dinner, Glen Buder spoke about the history of the Gordon Cup and announced some milestones achieved by some Gordon Cup players attending this year. He then invites Phil Hermite, the captain of the winning team from Pembroke, to introduce each of his players who were presented with crested beer mugs.

An event like the Gordon Cup needs a tremendous amount of support and volunteers. On behalf of the Mississippi Golf Club and Ken Maheral, Mississippi Gordon Cup Chairman, thanks very much to the following:

Scoring – Dave Hart, Chuck Maguire and Bob Rose

Registration – Suzanne Maheral and Judy Hunter

Starters - Brian Scharfe and Paul Virgin

On Course Water Delivery – Suzanne Maheral, Judy Hunter, Brian Scharfe and Paul Virgin

Bar Cart – Brenda Hart and Don Green

Horse Race - Fred Hunter and Brian Scharfe

Marshalling & Rules - Chris Bernard, Sand Point Golf Professional

Dan Kolar and entire Pro Shop and back shop staff

Bill Hudson and the entire greens crew

Sue MacLaren – Bar

Wendy McDonald - Kitchen

Paul Virgin – Master of Ceremonies

This has been our 100<sup>th</sup> Anniversary year. Thanks to the members of the Mississippi Golf Club for their understanding in releasing their golf course for two days to host the Gordon Cup. Hosting the Gordon Cup ends a very busy year that had Mississippi hosting 3 major competitions – the Ladies O'Brien Cup, the Gordon Cup and the Men's St. Lawrence Trophy. The cooperation and understanding by the members has been very much appreciated.