## **TRAFFORD CUP 2025 RESULTS**

The 36th Annual Trafford Cup took place Wednesday, June 18th. Smiths Falls Golf Club Ladies Section graciously hosted the Trafford Cup this year since Perth was unable to due to construction and which is not expected to reopen (as a 9-hole course) until 2027. We were all very delighted that Perth Golf Club ladies were still able to field a team, despite their temporary closure!

The competition is a fun but challenging match play against the course, with a point scored for beating net par, but a point lost for anything over par. Sponsored by the Trafford family, both Dale and Diane Trafford were on hand to greet the players and hand out prizes to the top point-getting team, as well as to individuals with the lowest gross and net scores for the day. On this humid day, and thankfully no rain, Smiths Falls won the tournament again this year, with the Mississippi team coming in second. Congratulations to the women from the Mississippi Golf Club who competed in this year's Trafford Cup: Laurel Onfrichuk, Leah MacMillan, Lynn Kolar, Cathy Rose, Lila James, Caroline Kealey, Deb Wallingford, Susan Wimperis, Sue Kolar, Kathi Norton, Lonie Ramsay and Joanne Palmer.

A special shoutout to players that met or BEAT the course with an even or positive score Leah MacMillian (2 points) and Caroline Kealey (1 point) and Deb Wallingford (even). Also, congrats to Leah MacMillian for shooting the 2nd overall lowest gross score for the day (with an 86) and Deb Wallingford for the 2nd low net score (with a net 71).